Trojans announce spring football plans

TROY, Alabama (troytrojans.com)– Troy football is less than a month away from returning to the practice fields, as head coach Neal Brown announced Troy’s spring practice schedule on Tuesday. The Trojans will scrimmage twice during the spring with the culmination of spring ball coming on Saturday, April 23, at 12:30 p.m. with T-Day in Veterans Memorial Stadium.

“Thanks to the hard work of our players, coaches and strength staff, we have already had a productive offseason,” Brown said. “We are going to treat these spring practices as extensions of what we will do once fall camp starts and stress the importance of fundamentals. The players that are here now will get a 15 practice jump start on the guys that will be coming in this summer. I am looking forward to seeing which guys will take advantage of this opportunity to step up and lead this football team.”

Beginning March 22, the Trojans will practice every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday leading up to the first scrimmage on Saturday, April 9. The scrimmage will begin at 11:30 a.m. and the Troy University Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place that evening in Trojan Arena. All of Troy’s spring practices are open to the public.

After a pair of mid-week practices, the Trojans will hold their second annual Friday Night Lights Scrimmage on April 15 at 7 p.m. in Veterans Memorial Stadium.

Troy will practice two more times the following week leading up to T-Day on April 23 at 12:30 p.m. The T-Day game will kickoff a busy day on campus as the Troy softball team hosts a Sun Belt Conference doubleheader against Georgia Southern beginning at 1 p.m. and the Troy baseball team hosts UT Arlington at 3 p.m. in game two of a Sun Belt series.

Season tickets for the 2016 season go on sale March 1 and can be purchased by calling 1-877-878-WINS or visiting TroyTrojans.com. Troy’s six-game home schedule features non-conference games against Austin Peay (Sept. 3) and UMass (Nov. 5) and Sun Belt games against Arkansas State, Appalachian State, New Mexico State and Georgia State.

2016 Troy Football Spring Practice Schedule
Tuesday, March 22 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 24 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, March 26 – 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, March 29 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, March 31 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 2 – 11:30 a.m.
Tuesday, April 5 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, April 7 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 9 – 11:30 a.m.; Scrimmage
Tuesday, April 12 – 3 p.m.
Thursday, April 14 – 3 p.m.
Friday, April 15 – 7 p.m.; Scrimmage
Sunday, April 17 – 2 p.m.
Thursday, April 21 – 3 p.m.
Saturday, April 23 – 12:30 p.m.; T-Day Spring Game

Related Posts