Department of Education Releases List of Failing Schools


By Alabama News Network

The Alabama Department of Education has announced the new list of failing public schools, where students can transfer to other non-failing public schools or to private schools.

The department says five schools were added to the new list. They are Barbour County Intermediate School, Lafayette High School, Abbeville High School, Jeremiah A. Denton Middle School in Mobile County, and Bessemer High School.

Four schools dropped off the list: Samson Middle School in Geneva County, Brighton Middle School in Jefferson County; Robinson Elementary School in Birmingham; and Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School in Tuscaloosa.

Three schools came off the list because they closed: Center Street Middle School and Hill Elementary School in Birmingham and Tarrant Middle School in Tarrant.

The new list applies to transfers for the 2014-2015 school year.

Here are the 76 Alabama schools classified as failing by the Alabama Department of Education under the Alabama Accountability Act:

-Barbour County

Barbour County Intermediate School

Barbour County Junior High School

-Bullock County

Bullock County High School

-Chambers County

Lafayette Eastside Elementary School

Lafayette High School

John P Powell Middle School

-Cullman County

Cullman Child Development Center

-Dallas County

Brantley Elementary School

Keith Middle-High School

Southside High School

Tipton Durant Middle School

-Greene County

Greene County High School

Carver Middle School

-Hale County

Greensboro High School

-Henry County

Abbeville High School

-Jefferson County

Center Point High School

-Lowndes County

Hayneville Middle School

Lowndes County Middle School

-Macon County

Notasulga High School

Tuskegee Institute Middle School

-Marengo County

John Essex High School

Marengo High School

-Mobile County

Jeremiah A. Denton Middle School

Augusta Evans School

Booker T Washington Middle School

Mae Eanes Middle School

Mobile County Training Middle School

Scarborough Middle School

-Montgomery County

Bellingrath Middle School

Brewbaker Middle School

Capitol Heights Middle School

Children's Center

Floyd Elementary School

Goodwyn Middle School

McKee Middle School

Southlawn Middle School

-Perry County

Francis Marion High School

-Pickens County

Pickens County High School

-Russell County

Russell County Middle School

-Shelby County

Linda Nolen Learning Center

-Sumter County

Kinterbish Junior High School

North Sumter Junior High School

York West End Junior High School

-Tuscaloosa County

Davis-Emerson Middle School

-Washington County

McIntosh High School

-Wilcox County

Camden School Of Arts & Technology

-Anniston City

Anniston Middle School

-Bessemer City

Bessemer High School

-Birmingham City

Bush K-8

Green Acres Middle School

Hayes K-8 (formerly Whatley K-8 School)

Martha Gaskins K-5

WE Putnam Middle School-Magnet

Ossie Ware Mitchell Middle School

Arrington Middle School

Wylam K-8

-Decatur City

Brookhaven Middle School

-Fairfield City

Forest Hills Middle School

-Gadsden City

Litchfield Middle School

-Huntsville City

SR Butler High School

Chapman Middle School

Martin Luther King Jr Elementary School

Davis Hills Middle School

Edward White Middle School

JO Johnson High School

Lakewood Elementary School

James Dawson Elementary

Westlawn Middle School

-Lanett City

Lanett Junior High School

-Linden City

George P Austin Junior High School

Linden Elementary School

-Midfield City

Midfield High School

-Selma City

R.B.Hudson Middle School

-Talladega City

Zora Ellis Junior High School

-Tuscaloosa City

Central High School

Westlawn Middle School

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Hot Video From AP

AP Video