Forestry Commission Issues Fire Warnings

The Alabama Forestry Commission has issued a fire danger warning for nearly 50 counties across the state. Officials say the extremely dry weather conditions and lack of rain in the days to come have created an environment that is favorable for wildfires. Over 140 wildfires have broken out over the last week, burning around 15-hundred acres of land.

Those counties under the fire danger warning include: Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, Dallas, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Lowndes, Macon, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, and Winston Counties.

Alabama is not under a burning restriction, but officials are urging people to delay any outdoor burning until conditions improve. As always, call the Alabama Forestry Commission for a burn permit.

Categories: Montgomery, News, Statewide