Troy’s Brown: Munger Coach of the Year semifinalist

TROY, Ala. ( – Troy head coach Neal Brown has been named a semifinalist for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year, the Maxwell Football Club announced Friday afternoon.

Brown has orchestrated a remarkable turnaround and a historic season for the Trojans. Troy is 8-2 after finishing the previous two seasons a combined 7-17, and the Trojans are ranked No. 25 in the Associated Press poll. Troy became the first Sun Belt Conference team to ever appear in either the Associated Press or USA Today Coaches polls.

“I am humbled to be included among this outstanding group of my peers,” Brown said. “This award is more about our players and our assistant coaches as it is about myself; this is truly a program award.”

Troy became the first team in Sun Belt history to open a season 8-1 as the Trojans rolled off seven straight victories, which was the fourth-longest streak in the country. Additionally, Brown will lead the Trojans to their first bowl game since 2010.

About The George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award

Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Friday, Nov. 18 and close on Sunday, Dec. 11. The finalist round will include the top three coaches as selected in the semifinalist round. Finalist voting will open Dec. 12 and will run until Dec. 27. The winner will be announced on Dec. 29.

The formal presentation of the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club’s National Awards Gala on Friday, March 10, 2017 at the Tropicana Hotel & Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Dabo Swinney from Clemson University was the 2015 winner of the award.

George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalists

Nick Saban                                 Alabama

Mike MacIntyre                         Colorado

Bobby Petrino                            Louisville

Jim Harbaugh                             Michigan

Urban Meyer                              Ohio State

James Franklin                           Penn State

Neal Brown                                Troy

Ken Niumatalolo                        U.S. Naval Academy

Scott Frost                                   UCF

Kyle Whittingham                      Utah

Justin Fuente                              Virginia Tech

Chris Petersen                            Washington

Mike Leach                                 Washington State

Dana Holgorsen                         West Virginia

P.J. Fleck                                     Western Michigan

Paul Chryst                                 Wisconsin

Categories: Troy