Gov. Kay Ivey Declares State of Emergency for 27 Counties


Alabama counties in the state of emergency – Click to enlarge

Governor Kay Ivey declared a state of emergency for 27 of Alabama’s 67 counties.

Several counties are expected to face the threat of strong winds, flooding, and tornadoes due to Hurricane Ida.

The emergency went into effect at 2 p.m. Saturday. All coastal and western counties are included in the order. In our area, that includes Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Monroe, Perry and Wilcox counties.

The state of emergency is generally for areas west of Interstate 65, including cities such as Florence, Tuscaloosa, Demopolis, Selma and Mobile. Other cities, such as Huntsville, Birmingham, Montgomery, Auburn and Dothan are not included in the state of emergency.

This weather event is expected to cause significant damage to public and private property, and to disrupt essential services like water and power.

The governor’s proclamation includes instructions to open the Alabama Emergency Management Agency’s State Emergency Operations Center and puts the Alabama National Guard on standby to be called to duty. It also makes price gouging illegal.

Categories: Montgomery, News, South Alabama, Statewide, West Alabama